Community & Environment

Rubbish and recycling changes during the holidays

Rubbish and recycling during easter

Hamilton City Council will continue to collect your rubbish and recycling over the Christmas and New Year break, but because of public holidays there may be changes.

If your kerbside collection day is Monday there will be no changes, however all other collections will be one day later for two weeks from Tuesday 25 December. Normal collections resume from Monday 7 January.

Don’t forget you can always check your kerbside collection day at Fight the Landfill

If your usual collection day is: Your rubbish/recycling will be collected on:
Tuesday 25 December (Christmas) Wednesday 26 December
Wednesday 26 December Thursday 27 December
Thursday 27 December Friday 28 December
Friday 28 December Saturday 29 December
Monday 31 December No change
Tuesday 1 January (New Years Day) Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 2 January Thursday 3 January
Thursday 3 January Friday 4 January
Friday 4 January Saturday 5 January

 

Lincoln Street Transfer Station

If you’ve got extra rubbish and recycling over the Christmas and New Year period this can be taken to the Lincoln Street Transfer Station. Recycling can be dropped off for free and rubbish bags from $4.80 per bag.

The Lincoln Street Transfer Station will be closed on Christmas day and New Years day.

Recycle right – quick tips:

By recycling correctly you’re not only helping keep our streets clean, but reducing Hamilton’s waste to landfill.

  • Recycle plastic 1 and 2, glass, tin, cans and paper and cardboard packaging
  • Wash and squash all containers
  • Paper and card separated out, folded and tied, and placed on the side
  • Don’t overfill your crate

Find out more at fightthelandfill.co.nz

SIGN UP GET THE E-NEWSLETTERSHARE
RELATED POSTS
Waste reduction ideas fund
Plastic Free July
Citizenship ceremony forges cultures together
Ruakiwi Reservoir roof
New roof for historic reservoir

Comments are closed.